New to Yoga


Yoga in Your Daily Life

Yoga Beyond Asana

Sister Sciences »

Our Sangha »

Sister Sciences


By Gwen Burdick Vastu, which means “science of space” in Sanskrit, is a sister science to Yoga, Jyotish and Ayurveda, and is the precursor to Feng Shui. The ancient Shastras are the books of rules of the Vedic sciences and the Vastu Shatra is the text that explains...

read more

Forever Young: Maintaining and Restoring Your Vitality

By Carrie Demers, MD As a culture, we are obsessed with looking young.  We dye our hair, whiten our teeth, use botox, have surgeries!  - all attempts to hide the signs of our encroaching age.  However, what we are truly seeking is not to look younger, but to feel...

read more

Sankhya Philosophy

by Gwen Burdick The dualistic theory of creation or causation is called Sankhya Philosophy and it appears in texts as ancient as the Upanishads and the Bhagavad Gita. Its founder was the sage Kapila who is considered by scholars to be older than Buddha. It is also the...

read more

The Four Purusharthas: Moksha

The Fourth Aim: Moksha Our investigation of the four Purusharthas, or aims of life in the Vedic tradition, concludes with Moksha, which means release, liberation or self-realization. The harmonious interactions of the first three aims, Dharma, Artha and Kama, are the...

read more

The Four Purusharthas: Kama

The Third Aim: Kama As our investigation of the Purusharthas continues, we come to the third aim, Kama, which means longing, wish, or desire. Kama pertains to the enjoyment of life and needs to be in balance with Dharma (duty) and Artha (means) if we are to experience...

read more

Sankalpa and the Power of Mars

By Gwen Burdick In Yogic philosophy, when the intention of the heart and intention of the mind merge with resolve and determination in search of Truth, we have what is called Sankalpa in Sanskrit, or solemn vow.   “Kalpa” means vow and “san” means truth.  It refers to...

read more

The Vedic Fire Ceremony

by Gwen Burdick Fire, or Agni in Sanskrit, is one of the five basic elements of creation. It dominates the Pitta dosha of Ayurveda. Agni allows for heat, light, color and vision and is essential for combustion, cooking and our ability to digest food. When the element...

read more

The Myth of RAHU and KETU: the Lunar Nodes

In Vedic Astrology, Rahu and Ketu are the important Lunar Nodes. Unlike the seven visible planets, Grahas in Sanskrit, they are massless yet potent mathematical points in space, sometimes referred to as the shadow planets. Our solar system is structured such that it...

read more

Sister Sciences: Ayurveda and Jyotish

The purpose of the Vedic sciences is to promote Self-realization, and the spiritual disciplines of Ayurveda and Jyotish, Vedic Astrology, share their ancient roots. Ayurveda, which means knowledge of Life in Sanskrit, provides regimens to harmonize the mind/body...

read more


"The Moonbeams are also the rays of the Sun." - the Vedas Our Sun, Surya in Sanskrit, is the 4.5 billion year old yellow dwarf star at the center of our solar system. It is an almost perfect sphere of gas (mostly Hydrogen and Helium) 860,000 miles in diameter and...

read more

The Distant Stars

By Gwen Burdick The billions of years old and never-changing distant stars visible in the night sky make up the circle that mankind has observed and described as the zodiac. Vedic Astrology, Jyotish in Sanskrit, divides the 360 degree sky into 27 stellar...

read more

Looking Ahead in 2019

Vedic Astrology, Jyotish in Sanskrit, is a sister science to Yoga and Ayurveda. It is the study of the precision of our solar system and planetary movements that create linear chronological time. Comprehension of this ancient wisdom tradition allows for the awareness...

read more

The Three Gunas: Tamas, Rajas and Sattva

The word Guna means "that which binds" in Sanskrit. According to Vedic science, all matter and energy that make up the manifest world consists of the three gunas in different quantities. They describe the qualities of nature and states of awareness, and are likened to...

read more

The Eclipse Cycle – by Gwen Burdick

A concentration of energy occurs twice a year on average as the Sun, Moon, and Earth line up in space, creating solar and lunar eclipses. Solar eclipses take place on the New Moon and lunar eclipses on the Full Moon, always two weeks apart. They are events when the...

read more

What Time Is It? The Vedic Sky: Gwen Burdick

Most people today look to the Gregorian calendar or even their smart phone for an awareness of the passage of time. Whether or not skilled in time management, most of us can feel the pressure of the unfolding of time. Sunrises, sunsets and the lunation cycles are the...

read more

Kapha Dosha

Kapha dosha is the mind-body constitution that is made up of the two elements earth and water. People who have a dominant kapha dosha tend to be passive, peaceful, calm, and consistent. They can also be lethargic and stubborn. They are deliberate in their actions and are very loving.

read more

Pitta Dosha

Pitta dosha is the mind-body constitution that is made up of the two elements fire and water. People who have a dominant pitta dosha tend to be intense, responsive, sociable, and knowledgeable.

read more

Auspicious 108

The number 108 is considered an auspicious, or sacred, number. For this reason there are 108 beads on a japa mala, or prayer garland. It is why many people do 108 sun salutations on summer and winter solstice. During our chanting for peace at The Yoga Sanctuary this...

read more

Vata Dosha

Vata dosha is the mind-body constitution that is made up of the two elements air and space. People who have a dominant vata dosha tend to be on the move, energetic, and always seeking new experiences. Like air and space, vatas are difficult to pin down.

read more