The Four Purusharthas: Moksha

The Fourth Aim: Moksha Our investigation of the four Purusharthas, or aims of life in the Vedic tradition, concludes with Moksha, which means release, liberation or self-realization. The harmonious interactions of the first three aims, Dharma, Artha and Kama, are the... Read More

The Four Purusharthas: Kama

The Third Aim: Kama As our investigation of the Purusharthas continues, we come to the third aim, Kama, which means longing, wish, or desire. Kama pertains to the enjoyment of life and needs to be in balance with Dharma (duty) and Artha (means) if we are to experience... Read More

SANKALPA and the Power of Mars

By Gwen Burdick In Yogic philosophy, when the intention of the heart and intention of the mind merge with resolve and determination in search of Truth, we have what is called Sankalpa in Sanskrit, or solemn vow.   “Kalpa” means vow and “san” means truth.  It refers to... Read More

The Vedic Fire Ceremony

by Gwen Burdick Fire, or Agni in Sanskrit, is one of the five basic elements of creation. It dominates the Pitta dosha of Ayurveda. Agni allows for heat, light, color and vision and is essential for combustion, cooking and our ability to digest food. When the element... Read More

The Myth of RAHU and KETU: the Lunar Nodes

In Vedic Astrology, Rahu and Ketu are the important Lunar Nodes. Unlike the seven visible planets, Grahas in Sanskrit, they are massless yet potent mathematical points in space, sometimes referred to as the shadow planets. Our solar system is structured such that it... Read More

Sister Sciences: Ayurveda and Jyotish

The purpose of the Vedic sciences is to promote Self-realization, and the spiritual disciplines of Ayurveda and Jyotish, Vedic Astrology, share their ancient roots. Ayurveda, which means knowledge of Life in Sanskrit, provides regimens to harmonize the mind/body... Read More