Sister Sciences

The Vedic Fire Ceremony

by Gwen Burdick Fire, or Agni in Sanskrit, is one of the five basic elements of creation. It dominates the Pitta dosha of Ayurveda. Agni allows for heat, light, color and vision and is essential for combustion, cooking and our ability to digest food. When the element... Read More

The Myth of RAHU and KETU: the Lunar Nodes

In Vedic Astrology, Rahu and Ketu are the important Lunar Nodes. Unlike the seven visible planets, Grahas in Sanskrit, they are massless yet potent mathematical points in space, sometimes referred to as the shadow planets. Our solar system is structured such that it... Read More

Sister Sciences: Ayurveda and Jyotish

The purpose of the Vedic sciences is to promote Self-realization, and the spiritual disciplines of Ayurveda and Jyotish, Vedic Astrology, share their ancient roots. Ayurveda, which means knowledge of Life in Sanskrit, provides regimens to harmonize the mind/body... Read More


“The Moonbeams are also the rays of the Sun.” – the Vedas Our Sun, Surya in Sanskrit, is the 4.5 billion year old yellow dwarf star at the center of our solar system. It is an almost perfect sphere of gas (mostly Hydrogen and Helium) 860,000 miles in... Read More

The Distant Stars

By Gwen Burdick The billions of years old and never-changing distant stars visible in the night sky make up the circle that mankind has observed and described as the zodiac. Vedic Astrology, Jyotish in Sanskrit, divides the 360 degree sky into 27 stellar... Read More

Looking Ahead in 2019

Vedic Astrology, Jyotish in Sanskrit, is a sister science to Yoga and Ayurveda. It is the study of the precision of our solar system and planetary movements that create linear chronological time. Comprehension of this ancient wisdom tradition allows for the awareness... Read More